Special Committee on Wireless Technology

The membership of the special committee shall comprise a chair, vice chair, secretary, three members from each Region of AASHTO, chosen for their knowledge of the radio communication needs of member departments, and one person appointed by the Federal Highway Administration, who serves ex officio at the pleasure of that Administration. The term of the three members from each region is three years, which will be staggered to provide continuity on the special committee. Members of the special committee, as designated by the President, represent the Association on the Land Mobile Communications Council and other organizations related to radio communications in which the Association may participate. The Wireless Technology Special Committee shall:

  • Monitor developments with regard to radio communications;
  • Work to secure and protect sufficient frequency assignments to meet the radio frequency and frequency management needs of the member departments;
  • Cooperate with others having common interests with member departments in securing and protecting frequencies;
  • Propose to SCOH such policy statements as it believes the Association should consider and adopt; and
  • Under the general supervision of the Executive Director, represent the interests of the Association and its member departments in proceedings before Federal agencies on radio frequency matters.

The committee shall report to the Standing Committee on Highways.


Committee Members

Committee Name: Special Committee on Wireless Communications Technology
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Steinman, Paul J. paul.steinman@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Chase, David B dchase@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Hayes, Jameelah jhayes@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Idell-Sassi, Lisa lisa.idell-sassi@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Non-Voting
Milanes, Ferdinand ferdinand.milanes@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cobb, Jack jack.cobb@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Voting
Donaldson, Gene S. gene.donaldson@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pierce, Randy randy.pierce@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Glasser, Matthew mglasser@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Koeberlein, Robert robert.koeberlein@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Voting
Cox, Ed ecox@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Marler, Scott C scott.marler@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Sundholm, Jeff jeff.sundholm@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Geer, Edwin D. geer@ksdot.org Kansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Glascock, Stephen W. Stephen.Glascock@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Curtis, Clifton clifton.curtis@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lazarus, Philip plazarus@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Wade, Tony tony.wade@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Van Portfliet, Randy vanportflietr@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mohn, James jim.mohn@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Cooke, Rusty rcooke@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Moulder, Jason jmoulder@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tomlin, Leary ltomlin@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member None
Keller, Steven stkeller@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Moore, Tom tmoore@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Roybal, Eric Eric.Roybal@state.nm.us New Mexico Department of Transportation Member Voting
Terry, Robert bsterry@dot.state.ny.us New York State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Fuller, Greg gfuller@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Buchholz, Russ rjbuchholz@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Roman, Richard RIROMAN@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Voting
Davidson, Tim davidsontw@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Brueggeman, Patrick patrick.brueggman@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Gilbert, Paul Paul.Gilbert@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hardy, Donna J. Donna.J.Hardy@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Garcia, Dominie garcia_dominie@bah.com Booz Allen Hamilton Associate Member Non-Voting
Madden, Roger Dale roger.madden@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Associate Member None
Hadi, Mohammed hadim@fiu.edu Florida International University Associate Member Non-Voting
Stevenson, Alan R. astevenson@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Associate Member Non-Voting
Arnold, Robert E. robert.arnold@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio Non-Voting
Walker, Jonathan jonathan.b.walker@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio None
Radow, Laurel J. Laurel.Radow@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio Non-Voting
Parker, Stephan saparker@nas.edu Transportation Research Board Ex Officio Non-Voting